Grassroots Newsletter 8/13

 

View this email in your browser

Dear Friend,

Tomorrow, August 14th, marks the 6 month anniversary of the Parkland Shooting where 17 students lost their lives.In the months since, Parkland survivors have sparked a groundswell of activism demanding common sense gun safety legislation. Students across the state and country have also stood up and demanded our legislators take action to end this epidemic of mass shootings.

But despite this overwhelming support and energy, Governor Sununu and New Hampshire Republicans have clung to their NRA donations and knocked down each and every single effort to implement gun safety legislation. Sununu even went so far as to express his continued support of allowing guns on campuses in the wake of the shooting.

In November, we have a chance to elect legislators who will act on this extremely important issue, but that will only happen if we all work to remove Sununu and his NRA-sponsored colleagues from office.

Go to nhdp.org/events today sign up to get involved and help elect those who will take action to stop mass shootings.

Please continue to use this newsletter as a tool for your local committee meetings or as a supplement to your own newsletter.  

As always, don’t hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Best,

Sue Ford                                                                  Sarah Guggenheimer
NHDP Grassroots Chair                                          Deputy Communications Director,
Fmr. House Democratic Floor Leader                     NHDP
sueford06@gmail.com                                            sguggenheimer@nhdp.org

Emma Tyler                                                             Erin Turmelle
Organizing Director, NHDP                                     Coordinated Campaign Director, NHDP
etyler@nhdp.org                                                     eturmelle@nhdp.org

Table of Contents

Upcoming Events

Raymond Office Opening!

When: Wednesday, August 15th at 6:00 PM
Where: 61 Main St, Raymond NH

RSVP HERE: bit.ly/RaymondOfficeOpening

CD 1 Democratic Candidates Forum in Dover
This Thursday, the New Hampshire Democratic Party will host a Democratic Candidates Forum at Dover Middle School in Dover. This is the fourth in a series of forums the NHDP will host across the First District to give voters a chance to hear from every Democratic candidate leading up to the September 11th primary. The event is open to the public.
Who: All Democratic candidates for New Hampshire’s First Congressional District are scheduled to attend
When: Thursday, August 16th, doors open at 6:00pm
Where: Dover Middle School, 16 Daley Dr, Dover NH 03820

Supporter Housing

 

The NHDP in full swing for our 2018 Coordinated Campaign! We are bringing on staff and volunteers to support our Town and County committees to turn out the vote in November. We need your help finding places for them to stay. Whether it is for a week or through election day – any little bit helps. Please fill out THIS FORM if you are able to house a volunteer or staff member.

Take the #24HourNH Pledge!

We have only 12 weeks before the 2018 election. That means there are just 12 weeks left to knock doors, make calls, talk to our neighbors, and make a difference in the most important election of our lives.We all know that this election will come down to just a handful of votes. If we are really committed to electing Democratic majorities in the State House, State Senate, and Executive Council, a Democratic governor, and keeping both congressional seats blue, each one of us needs to step up and get involved.

That’s why we’re asking YOU to commit 24 HOURS of volunteer time by Election Day and take the #24HourNH Pledge!

You can knock doors or make calls for three hours every week, or have two or three marathon days of action – it’s up to you!

All that matters is that you are talking to voters, supporting Democrats, and doing your part to make a difference in New Hampshire.

 

Click HERE and take the #24HourNH pledge!

Meet your Coordinated Campaign Field Team!

The New Hampshire Coordinated Campaign Regional Organizing Directors are:
Owen Berger

Owen is the Regional Organizing Director in Sullivan, Cheshire, Hillsborough towns, and the Upper Valley!
Contact him at oberger@nhdp.org or (808) 224-5477Hannah Chisholm

Hannah is the Regional Organizing Director in Hillsborough County!
Contact her at hchisholm@nhdp.org or (603) 459-5972

Maria Dieters

Maria is the Regional Organizing Director in Rockingham County!
Contact her at mdieters@nhdp.org or (954) 336-3350

Slate Goodwin

Slate is the Regional Organizing Director in Belknap, Coos, Grafton, and Merrimack Counties!
Contact him at sgoodwin@nhdp.org or (205) 737-5423

Austin Graber

Austin is the Regional Organizing Director in the Greater Manchester area!
Contact him at agraber@nhdp.org or (402) 689-1911.

Bryce Trzebiatowski

Bryce is the Regional Organizing Director in Carroll and Strafford Counties!
Contact him at btrzebiatowski@nhdp.org or (715) 630-1872.

Claire Cheramie

Claire is the Campus Organizing Director!
Contact her at ccheramie@nhdp.org or (504) 495-7783.
Meet our Coordinated Campaign Field OrganizersSenate District 1 – Tom Sullivan, tsullivan@nhdp.org or (571) 379-2616
Senate District 2 – Krum Bakalov, kbakalov@nhdp.org or (610) 761-5004
Senate District 3 – Matthew Emerson, maemerson@nhdp.org or (603) 953-7017
Senate District 4 – Erin Bassegio, ebassegio@nhdp.org or (585) 469-5898
Senate District 5 – Ben Goodman, bgoodman@nhdp.org or (216) 272-8529
Senate District 6 – Isabella Creatura, icreatura@nhdp.org or (347) 205-7738
Senate District 7 – Maureen Flaherman, mflaherman@nhdp.org or (415) 606-0382
Senate District 8 – Josh Gravlee, jgravlee@nhdp.org or 205-213-7539
Senate District 9 – Jillian Seigel, jseigel@nhdp.org or (781) 307-0921
Senate District 10 – Reilly Tegan, rtegan@nhdp.org or (612) 889-9497
Senate District 11 – Chloe Singer, csinger@nhdp.org or (781) 572-0829
Senate District 12 – Lucas Harrington, lharrington@nhdp.org or (413) 992-7698 and Austin Weihmiller, aweihmiller@nhdp.org or (808) 722-1215
Senate District 13 – Naeem Jenkins-Nixon, njenkins-nixon@nhdp.org or (716) 348-9674
Senate District 14 – Ryan O’Neill, roneill@nhdp.org or (508) 944-7748
Senate District 15 – Sam Auerbach, sauerbach@nhdp.org or (917) 573-0165 and Lindsey McEntee, lmcentee@nhdp.org or (216) 346-8504
Senate District 16 – Olivia Bergen, obergen@nhdp.org or (603) 486-1926
Senate District 17 – Bryce Trzebiatowski, btrzebiatowski@nhdp.org or (715) 630-1872
Senate District 18 – Sebastian Febres, sfebres@nhdp.org or (603) 682-7178
Senate District 19 – Brandon Brandenburg, bbrandenburg@nhdp.org or (804) 994-4041
Senate District 20 – Sebastian Febres, sfebres@nhdp.org or (603) 682-7178
Senate District 21 – Blake Waranch, bwaranch@ndhp.org or (407) 666-9899
Senate District 22 – Donnie Spencer, dspencer@nhdp.org or (317) 371-6869
Senate District 23 – Julia Derby, jderby@nhdp.org or (914) 356-2990 and Cam McClimans, cmcclimans@nhdp.org or (703) 973-7087
Senate District 24 – Jesse Braughton, jbraughton@nhdp.org or (813) 395-1234

Please reach out to our Field Organizers to get some coffee and discuss how YOU can get involved in the Midterm elections!

Sununu Reality Check

Last week, Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker signed automatic voter registration into law. Meanwhile, here in New Hampshire, Governor Chris Sununu has spent the past year and a half doing everything he can to make voting harder for students and other young eligible voters.

It’s yet another example of how Chris Sununu does not fit the mold of a popular Republican in a blue state. While Charlie Baker and Vermont Governor Phil Scott, both Republicans, have made compromises with Democrats on common sense issues like voting rights and gun reform, Chris Sununu has proven himself to be a radical Trump Republican time and time again.

Follow Sununu Reality Check on TwitterFacebook, and check out our website (SununuRealityCheck.com) to get updates on how we’re holding Sununu accountable.

Check out the NHDP Store

Click HERE to buy your NHDP swag today!

Social Media

Click on the Tweet to View it on Twitter






In the News

 

How it feels to be lied to by the governor

  By: Ben Kremer
Concord Monitor: READ HERE

High court’s bad decision on N.H. Voting bill
By: Editorial
Valley News: READ HERE

Do we have the education leadership we need?
By: Bill Duncan
Concord Monitor: READ HERE

Sununu should speak up against gag rule
By: Tom Slater
Seacoast Online: READ HERE

Sununu must listen to the ‘Lockdown Generation’

  By: Jennifer White and Jonathan Weinberg
Concord Monitor: READ HERE

Get Involved

We are going to need all hands-on-deck in 2018.  If you’d like to get involved, please let us know.  There are many ways to help out!  You can volunteer to write letters to your local paper, call your local representatives, testify at hearings, or share posts on social media.SIGN UP HERE

If this email was forwarded to you and you’d like to sign up for our weekly newsletter please click the button below.

Sign Up

Copyright © 2018 NHDP, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you opted in on our website, nhdp.org.Our mailing address is:

NHDP

105 N State St

Concord, NH 03301-4334

Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.